I know in the dark,

when the sun hasn’t even thought to rub it’s eyes

I feel you,

I know you need my touch,

because I have to have it too…..

……..

and, oh, how it burns….

………

and I’d give you the shirt off my back

with the blood from my veins

I’d hunt down those who’ve wronged you

I’d cover you with my body in a brimstone rain

…….

I know when your heart is sore

and when you’re reaching out….

I feel that you need me more

in that moment,  absolutely no doubt

………

and I act, because somehow I know you have to have my voice

………

and I make my moves for you

I will do all that needs to be done

because my heart every morning beats for you

long before the rising of that sun….

……….

I’m sometimes curious if it’s wrong to feel

this protective snarl that rumbles low

I constantly grind my steel against the wheel

honing my guard for you, ready to go

………

It is indeed  a strong love

I may be a bit of one to worry

for  my need and want to stand for you

are forever enduring…..

