“Love is like a friendship caught on fire: In the beginning a flame, very pretty, often hot and fierce, but still only light and flickering. As love grows older, our hearts mature and our love become as coals, deep-burning and unquenchable.”

–Bruce Lee

I’ve said it before,

there’s no way to say it

What I’m feeling

How we are pulled together

 

There’s no definition for this

no way to explain it

We are just two souls

happily and eternally tethered

 

So few know

what this is like

and those that do

it shows in their eyes

 

You don’t have to tell them

There’s no diagrams to bring

they smile and they nod

for they’ve felt the very same thing

 

 

I have interrogated myself

trying to define this to be true

but the evidence is in

and I’m just in love with you

 

It may be a chemical reaction

or two hearts beating at the same rate

but,  God help me, there’s no expression

that defines the word “soulmate”.

 

