You can have me running hot

and send me down the cloth to sleep

I’ve needed you since day one began

an addiction that runs deep

 

…..

I don’t want a methadone

never want to go to rehab

Haven’t experimented with anything else

since the day you reached out and grabbed

…..

You’re like a medicine

for every pain I’ve had

every heartbreak that lingers up in my head

you chase away the angry, beaten, and sad.

…..

and there’s no need for mirrors

syringes, straps or spoons

you’re the only fix I’ve ever seen

that requires nothing else from sun to moon

…..

but you

…..

You’re like a drug

that I can’t live without

and I’ve felt withdrawal

until the pain made me shout

…..

You’re like a drug

that makes me feel like a boy

and there’s no side effects

but smiles, contentment, and joy

