I’m feeling lyrical

and you’re my text

writing a song about you

would never be second best

…..

and I don’t play an instrument

but my pen never runs low on ink

paper will always get filled

as long as I’m able to think

…..

there’s doorways I am afraid of

ones people can walk through

I never want to be near one

when I’m standing next to you

…..

the narrative’s a mile marker

please take them from me

take them with a smile

…..

I feel like looking over my shoulder

to protect what’s mine

what I fought to grab hold of

with a grip that’s strong, but fine

…..

don’t blame me, sweet love

for being unsure, for being afraid

with time, with days, with love,

I am sure that will definitely fade.

…..

I know I have doubts deep inside

and the expressions from my heart unfold

the narrative about you starts to fly

the pieces build the pieces as I grab hold

…..

my pen and my keyboard:

chapters, stones on the ground, security

…..

the narrative’s a mile marker

please take them from me

take them with a smile

 

