Not knowing that she’s lying beside me
Not knowing I’m coming home to her
Not knowing she helps with the times that try me
Not knowing that she loves me for sure

It would be like not seeing

Not knowing that we’ll grow old together
Not knowing that her hand is always in mine
Not knowing that we are forever
Not knowing I will catch her every time

It would be like not hearing

and looking out at that beautiful sky
wouldn’t mean a damn thing without her back to my chest
and looking out the world around us
wouldn’t mean a damn thing without my hands locked at her waist

and my chin on her head

Not knowing that she wants my name for hers
Not knowing that her laugh is at the ready
Not knowing she will answer all the hurts
Not knowing I’ll be there to hold her steady

It would be like not breathing

