Expecting all kinds of downfalls

to slip through the cracks

kinda nice

learning I no longer have to do that

…..

Standing and walking

looking over my shoulder

always made me feel

as if my soul was going to smolder

…..

Thinking some kind of pain

was following in my path

kinda nice

learning I no longer have to do that

……

You stripped me to the bare bones and made the call

there’s nothing to be afraid of with you at all

…….

I’m good enough

you’re making me see

all these goddamn doubts

are only coming from me

…..

So I can take the world

and set it down as fast as I can

so happy, so relieved

not to be twisting it around in my hands

……

I’m good enough

you’re making me see

that this world I’ve been staring at in fear

is no longer going to bite me

……

And I’m the only one with the teeth for that

dulling my own fangs is what you’re helping me do

self inflicted wounds,

that I blamed on the world

are no longer going to stand between me and you

……

As long as I only use the mirror to adjust my hat

as long as my reflexes aren’t that of a cat

kinda nice

knowing I no longer have to do that

