There’s a glow from over there

She had lain in it before

I’ve never felt that way

She kept my bed warm

 

It was three days with an angel

and it was over so soon

She’s a ghost for me now

haunting from midnight to noon

 

Everyplace she stood, she’s standing there now

 

I’m smelling her everywhere

candles burn so bright I can’t see

I can’t shake the images of the place she’s been

she’s filling the spaces now empty

 

and I feel sick

because this house is empty

and I can’t share this

 

too much time on my hands

too many places to stand

where she was with her smile

I hate this place, hate the miles

 

I can’t drive away

because she was in the passenger seat

So I run to the back 40

a place we’d never taken time to meet

 

Because missing her is enough

almost more than I can take

Dealing with her memory is too much

waiting for warmth to melt snowflakes

 

because she was here in Winter

 

dying light through the windows makes pain

rising sun through the curtains creates shadow stains

I’m thanking God for the moments she filled my door

because I never needed anything more

and I knew this would happen when the plane lifted off

but there’s no one to hand it to that won’t scoff

 

and I feel sick

because this house is empty

and I can’t share this

 

